Located in the north-east of the Charente, at the confluence of Vienne and Goire, Confolens, with its dungeon, its Romanesque churches and the remains of its fortifications, testifies to the role it had in the Middle Ages. Confolens enjoyed prosperity due to the activity of its tanneries. On both sides of the Pont Vieux, about sixty half-timbered houses and numerous private mansions attest to this period. In the 19th century, it became sub-prefecture, it occupies administrative and commercial functions, which modifies its urban physiognomy. Since 1958, its festival of Arts and Traditions of the World attracts tens of thousands every year in the first fortnight of August. In 1895, Auguste Redon created a cake of almond paste called Kroumirs, from local specialty.
Both churches Confolens, Saint Barthelemy and Saint-Maxime, the chapel of the Commandery and the manor of the Counts, the keep, the old Hall of Justice. The Street of the Sun, with the home of the Duke of Epernon (late fifteenth century), which would have been used in 1619 for conspiracy to place the kidnapping of Marie de Medici. The door of the Ford, the streets of Adoue the Fontorse. See also, the square Jules Halgand with the remains of fortifications on the river.
Confolens of the cemetery, the tomb of Cecilia Marie Jeanne CREVELIER, made with the stones of an ancient dolmen and a stone sarcophagus of Volvic.
The Confolentais is labeled Country of Art and History: the Tourist Office offers entertainment programs, in spring, summer and fall.
In season, the Bike-Rail pleasantly you walk in the shade of its many trees. It also has a small train museum.
Franck Rivaud trail: this circuit to discover Confolens, capital of the Charente Limousine.
The castle of Saint-Germain-de-Confolens, St Vincent church, the street where Marchedieu remain marks of the past, like heads carved above the doors of houses.
A designer boutique in Saint-Germain-de-Confolens, allows you to discover the talents of artists working various materials such as wood, wool but also ceramics, cardboard...
Markets every Saturday morning and Wednesday morning Confolens.
The 12th of each month: Fair Confolens.
April: exhibition of unusual objects and toys of the past under the guise of market Confolens.
The second week of August: Confolens festival.
August 23: Fair St. Bartholomew.
In December: exhibition of collectors in the room of the Mill.
Throughout the year, many associations of the town organize various festivals and events: spring market, garage sales, choir, harvest festival, roasted pig on a spit...
Part of GR 48 borrows the paths of Confolentais. In total 71 trails, 1 to 14 km, crisscross the Confolentais. The GR 48 runs between the GR 3 and GR 4, between Chinon (37) and Rochechouart (87). A note at the trailhead Paule Lavergne, Binot the bridge or bridge of the Devil known to have been demolished by the devil several times...
The Museum of Ostensions to Esse.
The ruins of the castle of Saint-Germain-de-Confolens.
The Abbey with her Lesterps Heritage House (open summer only).
The abbey of Charroux.
The abbey Cellefrouin.
The infamous martyr town of Oradour-sur-Glane, 30 km, and the ancient baths of Chassenon, 25 km, are testimonies of history.
The adventure park in Massignac.
An unusual place to discover the tomb of Augustus Pressac, an "original" who asked to be buried sitting in his wood with his gun and a bottle of wine!
For those looking further ahead, the Futuroscope theme park is 60 km, and finally, just to enjoy the holidays, the Atlantic Ocean is at 2:30.