Vénéjan is a town of Gard, in Occitan region, a few kilometers northeast of Bagnols-sur-Cèze, bordering the Vaucluse.
Located on the right bank of the Rhone river, the territory of the village with an area of 18 km² succession Provence Occitan, and it is already occupied during the Gallo-Roman.
In the Middle Ages, however, a village developed on a hill around a castle and a Romanesque chapel, dominating the path to Pont-Saint-Esprit.
Until the sixteenth century, family succession at the head of the lordship governing these lands. One illustrious nobles, Louis Grignan wife Margaret, daughter of the Marquise de Sevigne, and in the eighteenth century, the stronghold of Vénéjan is even sold twice.
The hilltop village grows again, this time in the plain, in the twentieth century when operates the Marcoule nuclear center about ten kilometers south, and when part of the municipality of land converted to viticulture (wine production of Côtes du rhône).
Labeled "Small town character Occitan", the historic heart of Vénéjan nevertheless preserved a heritage and a picturesque charm. With its environment that will delight hikers, especially the town of nearly 1300 inhabitants is a pleasant stop during a stay between Provence and Luberon.
Besides the charm of the typical cobbled streets and ancient houses, the village center maintains a quality heritage that must be discovered.
This is the case of the castle which remains the imposing tower of the eleventh century and some remains of military architecture (walls and moats elements), the main building being later. The set has a certain charm with its park and shady courtyards has been restored from the 1960s and the area now hosts receptions. Information +33 4 66 79 25 50.
The tower called the Clock (1843), a laundry, a fountain, walkways and the Saint-Jean-Baptiste also to see: it was built in the twelfth century and rebuilt in the fourteenth and seventeenth centuries. Protected as historical monuments, it is Romanesque. Its small nave of three bays which ends with a semicircular apse was completed by two side chapels acting transept. The beautiful scheduling of low contrast parts with rubble masonry of the upper parts, probably again after the wars of religion, and at the roof tiles have replaced the original slate. However, it noted with interest that the choir presents a painted decoration which dates from the early fourteenth century: it is Christ in Majesty surrounded by symbols of the evangelists and apostles that dominates more.
Out of center, two other heritage items worth visiting. This is the case of the St. Peter chapel, isolated in the heart of the vineyards, northeast of the village: classified, of Romanesque style, it dates from the twelfth century. Note the roof covered with stones, his bedside and apse of Lombard inspiration and support that facade buttresses. The bell tower pierced by four bays campanarian not missing more elegance.
Southeast this time, on a plateau, the windmill built in 1813 by a miller of Bagnols-sur-Cèze worked for a century and was restored some years ago. Visit possible by contacting the town hall at +33 4 66 79 25 08.
In terms of sports "nature", it is possible to discover the village and its surroundings via a nice interpretive trail that also evokes the lives of villagers in the past and their environment. In addition, hiking trails allow you to enjoy the country's rich biodiversity along the Rhone, the vineyard parcels (breaks can taste among some producers) or, for mountain bikers, joining the tourist cyclo connected route to the "ViaRhôna ". Maps and information +33 4 66 39 44 45.
Moreover, the common Vénéjan has excellent sports and leisure facilities accessible to visitors: mogul for two wheels, tennis courts, bowling, fitness trail. Information at +33 4 66 79 25 08.