The museum Vauluisant at Troyes is housed in a listed building, the hotel Vauluisant, built in the second half of the sixteenth century and completed in the seventeenth century, after the original building dependent on the Abbey of Our Lady was Vauluisant burned in 1524.
Restored, provided particularly with a beautiful Renaissance facade, purchased by the city in 1932, the site now houses two museums.
The first is devoted to the art of Champagne sixteenth century, the city is so famous for its school of painting, sculpture and stained glass (other periods on the art and archeology of the Holy Troyes are presented museum -Wolf). The fund consists of documents seized during the Revolution and subsequent donations. Note in general that works reflect a turning point between the late Gothic and the emergence and development of the Renaissance style. Nordic or Italian influences are also visible. Among the exhibited exceptional pieces, sculptures (the Virgin of Villenauxe, Christ of Mercy), tables (Lady in red coat) and stained glass, signs of the master Linard Gontier.
In another part of the site, another piece of local heritage is showcased at the Museum of Hosiery. It traces the history of this industry that once brought prosperity to the city. Exposed machines and knitting machines dating back to the eighteenth century and some of the examples of the Trojan generation (caps, embroidered silk stockings, but also to goods made in the twentieth century...). In addition to numerous documents and films, has been reconstructed also a craft workshop of the nineteenth century.
Open daily except Mondays and 1 January, 1 May, 1 and 11 November, 25 December. Input 2 and 3 euros (free the first Sunday of each month). Information +33 3 25 43 43 20.