Saint-Urcize is a commune in the Cantal in Auvergne region Rhône-Alpes, 18 km east of Laguiole, bordering the departments of Aveyron and Lozère.
Ranging from 1044 to 1427 m above sea level, the territory of the village with an area of 54 km² belongs to the natural region of Aubrac, a volcanic and granite plateau in the center and south of the Massif Central.
The village developed near the ancient glacial valley during the Lhère bordered by basalt cliffs rather steep. The Lhère is marked itself waterfalls, rivers and other courses rugged as the Rioumau, also pass through the town. Finally, note that the ridgeline of Aubrac borders the western territory. Its peaks over 1300 m and allowed the development of a small ski resort.
Named after a former bishop of Cahors, Saint-Urcize which now has just over 400 inhabitants has preserved agriculture (livestock) but the picturesque heritage and unspoilt market town justified the award of the "Small city of character". With a favorable environment for recreation and sport "nature", that is it a step Landmarks near other tourist sites like Laguiole and Chaudes-Aigues.
Residences old to the gray slate roofs and schist, narrow streets, small squares with fountains, remains of the walls and the medieval fort: a walk in the heart of the village proves eminently pleasant and explains why is Saint-Urcize considered a small town character!
In detail, the two sites are a must there in terms of heritage discovery. There is first the Virgin's rock the gazebo, in the center of the resort, where once stood the keep of the castle. If the place remains charming, nothing remains of the fortress a square tower of the thirteenth century.
Management then close the church of Saint-Pierre and Saint-Michel: it dates to most of the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, built in a Romanesque style instead of a first place of worship built around the year one thousand. With a bell tower (or bell tower), listed building since 1921, the church houses an ambulatory (the only of its kind in the region): historians deduce that it was therefore formerly located on a path Saint-Jacques. Inside again, there is a painting depicting St. Michael slaying the demon in the bottom left side chapel, and in that situated behind the altar, a Christ in the tomb carved into the stone colored (XV).
However, this is different elsewhere classified object that made the reputation of the building. In a side chapel, is kept the chalice used at the Mass celebrated in the Temple prison by the confessor of King that morning of the execution of Louis XVI. Made of gold and vermeil 1715, decorated with coats of arms, it was very carefully passed from priest to priest found in the nineteenth century in the east of France. He then offered to Pierre Jean Ipcher, future pastor of Saint-Urcize, for the celebration of his first Mass. This left him in that church. Finally, to still see the beautifully crafted stained glass windows.
Free visit (with brochure distributed at the Tourist Office or City Hall) or guided (on request) of the church as the village. Information +33 4 71 23 21 39 or +33 5 65 44 35 94 and in July and August, at +33 4 71 23 21 03.
An exhibition hall, a viewpoint still allow you to enjoy the village and enjoy views of the stunning Aubrac plateau landscape.
In terms of sports, about 4 km south of the village, the town has since the 1970s to one of the smaller ski resorts in the region. She does not have snow cannons and therefore depends on the weather! When snow is waiting for you in terms available are alpine 6 runs (3 green, 2 blue and 1 red) accessible via three lifts. What delight family audiences.
Situated at 1200 m altitude, the resort also offers 35 km of cross-country trails (1 green, 1 blue, 3 red and black long of 11 km!), Trails dedicated to snowshoeing and even tracks accessible to sled dogs (for this activity, inquire +33 6 70 93 73 99). A toboggan run and a long northern route of 18 km complete infrastructure.
Equipment rental on site as possible. The station is open depending on snow conditions on Wednesdays and weekends except school holidays and daily during holiday periods with night Wednesdays until 22h. Information +33 4 71 23 22 28 or +33 4 71 23 52 75.
For lovers of hiking, in summer, many trails allow to understand the wild landscapes of the Aubrac, small waterfalls and parades that mark watercourses and views on the ridges and peaks overlooking the village and land summer pasture. Furthermore, it will try to follow the path of former pilgrims.
Maps and information +33 5 65 44 35 94 or +33 4 71 23 21 03 (in July and August only).
Finally, anglers must join the federation +33 4 71 48 19 25 to know the regulations and the most suitable sites.