Common of the valley of Cèze, in Gard, Saint-Jean-de-Maruéjols-et-Avéjan takes place with about sixty kilometers of Nîmes and its bullring, surrounded by Avignon, Uzès, Anduze, Montpellier or Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, all with less than one hundred kilometers. It is located on the edge of the Ardeche department, on the banks of the Cèze gorges.
Mentioned in the official registers since the second half of the eleventh century, Saint-Jean-de-Maruéjols-et-Avéjan then reported at the time of the Counts of Toulouse also counts of Uzès. It then becomes property of the bishops of Uzès by order of Louis VIII at the beginning of the 13th century. Enriched by a royal bailiff as early as 1493, the town suffered the full brunt of religious wars, and notably known an important seat led by the Duke of Rohan in 1628, which will lead to the dismantling of the castle Budos of Gates and ramparts. Over the next centuries, she will also experience the tortures of Jean Cavalier and his camisards, as well as epidemics of plague and cholera. Later, the city of southern France will also be recognized as the capital of asphalt with mines having counted up to more than 1800 employees, and until the replacement by oil to make the road tar.
Located near the castle, the church of Saint-Pierre d'Avéjan is surrounded by a small cemetery and still has its Romanesque architecture. Built in the second half of the twelfth century, it has suffered many damage over the centuries, including being ransacked at the beginning of the eighteenth century by Jean Cavalier and his camisards who profaned the burials of the lords of Avéjan. The tympanum of the portal was also hammered at this time. Disactivated in the mid-1980s and restored, the church now hosts year-round exhibitions and concerts.
The foundations of the Saint-Jean-Baptiste church date back to the 12th century, just like his colleague from Avéjan. In ruins at the beginning of the 17th century because of the conversion to Protestantism of the majority of the inhabitants, it is rehabilitated soon after, then burned in the eighteenth during the war of the Camisards. The bell tower dates from the nineteenth century, as the bell, and it was later extended to accommodate all the faithful. Under the chapels of the transept exist the funerary crypts of the Ribeyrol families of Entremeaux and Laborie de Tharaux, and it is also possible to admire a modern stained glass window representing the baptismal water above the large portal.
While strolling in the commune, you will also be able to discover the castle of the lords of Budos de Portes, private property with the typical architecture of the area, the medieval-style Caveirac bridge, or the vestiges of the mines of asphalt or the House of Mines.
Formerly built into the ramparts, the Clock Tower dates from the 12th century. Transformed partly in the middle of the 18th century, it now has a roof covered with glazed and colored tiles. We can still see some vestiges of the ramparts also on the houses that once leaned against it, especially on the Place de l'Horloge.
Difficult to miss the hamlet of Avéjan, charming little village all in stone and cradle of the family of Banne-d'Avéjan. Standing on top of a hill, the site reveals beautiful stone houses and traditional architecture, as well as wells and fountains.