Riverie is a commune of the Rhône, region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, 35 km southwest of Lyon.
Ranging from 613 to 731 meters, the territory of the resort is one of smallest of France in terms of area (0.42 km² only 42 hectares), and belongs to the natural region of mountains of CL constituting the eastern foothills of the central range.
The village developed in the early second millennium, headquarters of a fief belonging to the lords of Roussillon. Its dominant position on a spur in fact a strategic point to monitor the plain. A fortified castle was built. The small fortress then passed to the Dukes of Bourbon, the counts of Drill, then Riverie is erected into a barony in the seventeenth century.
Remodeled several times, the castle was sold and divided among different owners during the nineteenth century. Some now belongs to the town. The village of about 320 inhabitants has retained a picturesque face and a rich heritage, Riverie is labeled Small City of Character and visitors will enjoy unparalleled views of the surroundings, Jura to the Southern Alps via Lyonnais and the Rhone valley.
A charming stage during a stay in the region.
Widowed, the last heir to the barony of Riverie sells in 1802 the castle built for its oldest parts from the eleventh century.
From 1880 to 1963, the town gradually acquires the central building which now houses the town hall, school, library, housing and the hall: the heritage jewel of the village is now, for the essentially a public good that has been renovated.
Around the market square, the rest of the village is dotted with old houses lining the narrow streets and medieval buildings that give it a remarkable cachet as the old hospital converted into a restaurant.
also dating from the early Middle Ages, the church dedicated to the Conversion of Saint-Paul deserves also to be observed: stained glass of the early twentieth and rich bronze reliquary, shaped vertical arm containing bones Saint Ursula, a goldsmith piece of the sixteenth century, are the most remarkable elements.
Other heritage element, the cross of the cemetery dating from the nineteenth century which was transformed into memorial after the First War.
Outside, we can see the old "terrace" of the castle with its rows of trees (sycamore particular) which was planted in 1595 a lime tree at the request of Sully, minister of Henry IV, symbolizing peace restored after the wars of Religion. Several storms have finally overcome the tree that had been registered and was shot dead by security in 1997.
They Shoot discover the City of Character by the walkway. In good weather, 730 meters above sea level, the panoramic view which justified the creation of this fortified village has become a real geography lesson. a pan all we can distinguish the geography of the region, beyond Mornant and Monts du Lyonnais, stretching the neck of the Sickle north (Jura) to the mountains of Diois south, in the southern Alps, passing through the city of Lyon and the Rhone valley.
Guided tours of the village are offered throughout the year. Cost: 3 to 5 euros. Registration and information: +33 4 78 19 91 65. At that same number, maps and information are available for hiking and including nearby locations including southern Riverie where the Stations of the Cross are still visible.
South of the village yet, a site dedicated to climbing can be enjoyed by specialists. Beware though: rock elements picking up punctually, should contact by security prior to the town hall +33 4 78 81 82 42 and the local club at +33 6 77 86 21 43.
The first Sunday of July in odd years, medieval festival with parades of costumed Riverades, demonstrations of archers, knights fighting, storytelling, gourmet entertainment.
The third Sunday of September, autumn market with highlighting of gourmet products from the local region.