Located in the 16th district of Paris, rue Raynouard and rue Berton, the Balzac House is one of the fourteen museums of the city of Paris managed by Paris Museums. Inhabited by the famous writer between 1840 and 1847 to flee her creditors, she officially became a museum in 1910.
Listed as a Historical Monument, it is freely accessible to the public, revealing documents of the author, manuscripts, autograph letters, rare editions or personal items. In the basement, it is possible to admire several busts of Balzac made by his friend Auguste Rodin. Since the late 1990s, the museum has developed funds dedicated to Theophile Gautier, a great friend of Balzac.
The amateurs will also be able to discover the library of the site constituted of an important fund dedicated to the two writers, but also of contemporary works which are dedicated to them. The garden, part of the Historical Monuments, is also worth a visit. Large 650 m², it offers a magnificent view of the Eiffel Tower.
In 2012, the building underwent major renovations and upgrading to disabled standards.