Housed in the heart of the late 18th-century Salm Hotel in the 7th district of Paris, the Legion of Honor and Order of Chivalry Museum was created on the initiative of the General Dubail, then Grand Chancellor of the Legion of Honor.
Inaugurated in 1925, the site originally consisted of the Grand Chancery Fund and national museum depots. Over the decades, donations by private collectors and foreign states such as Russia and Poland have been added.
The building, which overlooks the forecourt of the famous Musée d'Orsay, is divided into several thematic areas: the history of the palace and the creation of the museum, the chivalric and religious orders, the French royal orders, the Legion of Honor, imperial orders and memories of the First Empire, foreign orders, and finally, orders, decorations and medals French from 1789 to the present day.
Thematic temporary exhibitions are regularly organized to offer unique and unpublished collections.