Recognized as a National Museum since 1971, the Eugène-Delacroix Museum is located in the 6th district of Paris. Created in the 1920s by the Society of Friends of Eugene Delacroix, it opens for the first time to the public in the early 1930s with a first exhibition.
He takes his place in the last apartment and studio of the artist, which he occupied from 1857 until his death six years later. Attached to the Louvre since 2004, the Musée Eugène-Delacroix offers notably to admire the garden as the painter knew it in his day, as well as a large collection of works by Delacroix.
It is possible to discover on the spot paintings, prints, lithographs, drawings, sketches, lithographic stones, color palettes or writings and extracts of his personal correspondence. Some masterpieces are thus visible as the Madeleine in the desert, the Education of the Virgin or Romeo and Juliet at the tomb of Capulets.
Man of letters, Eugène Delacroix also left many writings to discover in the library of the museum as his notebooks of youth. Temporary exhibitions are regularly organized to reveal the importance of the artist's work on modern art.