Visit a fortress of the fifteenth century, the silkworm breeding and silk museum. On the unique architecture, the walkway offers a panoramic view of the Cévennes, Mont Lozère to Mont Gerbier-de-Jonc and the Down-Vivarais.
The castle Roure dates back to the late fourteenth and early fifteenth century. It belonged to Pierre de Beauvoir Family Grimoard du Roure until 1825.
High-rise of the religious wars, the castle hosted the Duke of Rohan (Huguenot leader) in 1628.
In 1629, Louis XIII and Richelieu are shaving defensive parts of the castle and the ramparts of the village.
After the revocation of the Edict of Nantes in 1685, Count Roure abjured the Protestant religion and became a Catholic.
In 1703, Jean Cavalier (head camisard) takes the castle of La Bastide de Virac and burns the church.
The castle of Roure is open to the public since 1975 and was classified a historical monument in 1978.