Port to the wheels:
As part of an industry that exported goods particularly pondéreuses (a millstone = 1-5 tons) and globally, logistics obviously occupied a prominent place.
The archives of the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries show a relatively large number of ports mill, like equipment sailors of the time, not with a dock basins as modern ports, but a simple beach (a "strike") against which came to store boats, and an empty space behind to store goods awaiting loading, but also allow the operation of the crew towed.
La Ferte-sous-Jouarre has, in heritage millstone, a unique monument "to port wheels Pâtis Conde", which was obviously the greatest of all. Its presence is attested from 1558, when Louis de Bourbon, Prince de Condé and lord of La Ferte-sous-Jouarre, grants residents the right to use two pieces of meadow lying to the suburbs: one side Reuil and the other located on the side of Condetz Islands (Pâtis the Conde). The Fertois can then freely use these spaces for them to graze their cattle but also to store the wheels.
In 1880, the bare ownership of this port Condé wheels still belongs to the lord of La Ferte, the Duke of La Rochefoucauld. Shortly after he sells to traders meuliers city in separate lots.
The years 1860-1870 resulting from the real birth of this monument of English pier, one of the most important heritage millstone Fertois: 400-500 monoliths large stones piled on eight levels in the river Marne, legal workshops and plug-Gueuvin company. They form a wall about 4 meters high. On the wharf came ashore heavy barges quest grinding, and later steamboats. They were able to load the heavy stones full board, even when the river was in flood.
This monument has kept a strong evocative power and leaves no visitor indifferent, especially where an underpass leads, giving a view column wheels over much of its diameter.