Arcueil is a town of Val-de-Marne in the Île-de-France, located about 15 km from Creteil. Arcueil is also part of the Grand Paris, which has 130 municipalities, including all those in the Petite Couronne and 7 towns of the Great Crown.
Crossed by the Bièvre, Arcueil also belongs to the Community of Municipalities of the Val de Bièvre, with the municipalities of Cachan, Fresnes Gentilly, Gentilly, L'Hay-les-Roses and Villejuif.
The town has a historical heritage of great interest, evidenced by the aqueducts of Arcueil and Cachan, the first building, the Aqueduct of Lutèce was built in Roman times to late second and early third century home of the guards or the St. Dionysius church.
The city also has other essential buildings to discover, like the chapel Perret, the Raspail house or the old town hall became the center Marius Sidobre, all protected under the Historic Monuments.
During your stay in Arcueil, you can not miss the book the largest in the city, the Arcueil aqueducts and Cachan. This remarkable building that marks the border between Arcueil Cachan and consists of two books successively laid on the foundation of a first Gallo-Roman aqueduct, the aqueduct of Lutetia.
The second book, the Medici aqueduct or aqueduct water Rungis is built in stone from 1613 by order of Marie de Medici, with the first stone laid in Rungis by Louis XIII. It is operated in 1623.
The third work, the aqueduct of La Vanne, a length of 156 km, was built in millstone by the engineer Eugène Belgrand in the nineteenth century. Arcueil the territory of the aqueduct consists of 77 arches, some of which are supported by the Medici aqueduct, to 14 meters high and over a kilometer in length. The total height of the assembly is raised to 38 meters.
Walking through the historic district Arcueil, you will certainly notice the house Guards. Built in the seventeenth century is the last remnant of the old castle of Guise, Arcueil lords, destroyed in 1752. The house Guards, listed historical monument, now houses the Municipal Conservatory and a drawing school.
The Church of St. Denys Gothic is also worth visiting. Erected in the late twelfth and early thirteenth century, it was then rebuilt in the fifteenth and eighteenth centuries. It is notably listed building since 1862.
Also do not miss the imposing and monumental building of the former city hall inaugurated in 1886 by the prefect and the mayor Eugene Poubelle Emile Raspail. It is located on Republic Square. The old town hall is today renamed center Marius Sidobre and welcomes associations of the city.
Perret The chapel is also a monument to visit Arcueil not only for its unique architecture but also for its remarkable acoustics. Located in the Laplace Avenue, this chapel built between 1927 and 1929 was bequeathed in 1973 to the foundation "Life in the open air." It is classified as an historic monument since 1999.
Under the "Arcueil edible city" project, the municipality organizes in May the festival of garden Cauchy-Lafontaine. The event is at the corner of Cauchy and Lafontaine in the shared garden of 400m² Arcueil. The program for this friendly event open to all: gardening, entertainment, picnic and friendly exchanges.
In September, the fair is organized by the Crumbs Arcueil Animation Association. More than a hundred exhibitors are present at this lively and festive flea market, which brings locals and visitors.