On the D1, halfway between Bellac and Châteauponsac, Rancon is built on a promontory overlooking the left bank of the Gartempe. At the last census in March 2005, the municipality had 542 inhabitants (up from 1999 to 518 inhabitants), an area of 3161 hectares.
The prehistoric remains, discoveries Gallo-Roman monuments from the 11th and 12th centuries are witnesses of a rich past. The Gallic city to the present, history is made of Rancon rise and fall. The Middle Ages is undoubtedly the best period. Rancon being a capital of archpriest, the second largest in the area and the number of parishes (84) of the diocese of Limoges, the lords of Rancon reigning for 253 years on a rich heritage and extending its influence to the Charente Maritime (Taillebourg) or Vienna (Gençay).
The currently visible monuments: the church (XII, XIV, XVI), the Chapel of St. Sebastian Chapel St. Sulpice, the lantern of the dead (XII), the door of an old Renaissance house (circa 1780), the old bridge (XI, XII), the base of the unit cell is large Gallo-Roman at 200 m north of the bridge, a monumental testament to the hollowed portion of the Roman road Agen (Aginnum) - Bourges (Avaricum) from Limoges (Augustoritum) and Rancon (Roncomagus) the viaduct.
The setting is picturesque rivers (Gartempe, Semmes, Couze) are fish. It was conducted an operation of salmon restoration.
Several marked hiking trails allow visitors to discover lush greenery and a fitness trail, games for children and adolescents on the stage.
The municipality has a municipal post office, school. It is well endowed with craft shops, services and accommodation.
Community life is rich and very active.
Agriculture remains the main activity with important breeding sheep and cattle.
Specialty of the region: Clafoutis Limousin.
The fortified church: Modified to the 16th century, this church has seen its construction started in the 12th century. It is transitional Romanesque Gothic novel with its choir and the vault of the nave with Gothic arches. Fortified in the 15th century it was part of the ramparts at the bedside. The last phase of construction saw the rise tower bulb chestnut shingles. Among the furnishings of the church, there is a wooden Christ of the 13th century and several statues of the 16th and 17th centuries.
The lantern of the dead is a traditional lantern 12th century. It has been classified in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments in 1925. It is located near the chapel dedicated to Saint Sebastian, in the old abandoned cemetery in the 19th century. Cylindrical, it is 6 meters high in total. Its inner cavity is provided with holes allowing him who was responsible for placing the lamp to rise to the top. These are six arched windows that allowed light to spread. Its conical summit terminates in a cross Quintefeuille (that is to say five lobes).
The Chapel of St. Sebastian: Chapel of the dead, dedicated to St. Sebastian (patron of Conscripts). It has a statue of the saint painted wood, 17th century. In the 19th century, this chapel was famous for its pilgrimages to conscripts, especially frequented by young people who hoped to get the proper number of saving them from the army.
The monumental gateway (reconstruction of the door of an old Renaissance house built around 1780 by the family of Bonnin Grandmont).
Old Bridge (XI, 12th centuries) with three front-burner. At the northwest end of the bridge, under the old oak on the bank of the Gartempe Point Road to a Roman road passing Rancon: the "Stone of Setter.
The bridge, built in 1912, allowed the tramway from Limoges - Saint-Sulpice-les-Feuilles, crossing the Gartempe until 1949.
The walk allows the visitors to discover enchanting places where nature meets the rural heritage.
In July and August: Exhibition of artists Gartempe the Chapel of St. Sebastian.
October: Feast of cider and chestnuts.
ATTRACTIONS, LEISURES AND ACTIVITES AROUND
Museum of René Baubérot Châteauponsac:
The Museum of Popular Arts and Traditions offers a trip back in time to the visitor.
Housed in a former Benedictine priory of the 14th century, the first ethnographic museum in the Limousin has 24 rooms (900 m²) of rich and varied collections of everyday life in Limousin in 1900: kitchen limousine, girls rooms, carpenter's workshop , the basket maker, blacksmith ... The various reconstructions with very neat and modern models and scenery will seduce you at any age, and you will discover the roots of memory limousine. Each year, a new ethnographic exhibition is presented in the annex of the museum: Maison du Terroir.
Open from 14h to 18h every day from June 1 to September 30 and during school holidays.
Out of season: open Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.
Interests and activities:
Swimming, canoeing, water skiing, windsurfing, sailing on Lake St. Pardoux.
Horseback riding (riding in Roussac two, one in Saint-Pardoux and a horse farm in Saint-Symphorien-sur-Couze).
Mountain bike rental at Lake St Pardoux.
Balloon in Saint-Pardoux.
Tennis Châteauponsac, Saint-Amand-Magnazeix and St. Sornin-Leulac.