Close to the canal, the arrival of the railway in 1867 Paray-le-Monial was responsible for the increase in industrial activity in the city and the foundation in 1877 by the ceramist Paul Charnoz, a ceramic tile factory. By creating a range of stoneware tiles designed by keying in the mass, presented today at the Museum Charnoz, the industry had quickly distinguished by the quality of its aesthetic and technical productions. Both communication channels are particularly attractive, the Canal du Centre and the railway, had competed, from 1873, the organization of pilgrimages to celebrate the onset of the Heart of Jesus to the religious Visitation Margaret Mary to late 17th century, the city now dedicated to the Sacred Heart. Thus, between living a spiritual heritage and its industrial past, the city is now Paray-le-Monial new developments.
The city of Paray-le-Monial itself as a great heritage site to discover:
The Basilica of the Sacred Heart (eleventh-twelfth centuries) is a jewel of Romanesque architecture. This is the title that is shown by molding, in Paris, in the City of Architecture and Heritage. The cloister (eighteenth century) forms with it a Cluniac monastic leading.
The Museum of Hiero, one of the only sites in Burgundy built as a museum, since its conception in 1890, gives a more contemporary dimension to the architectural promenade: the steel structure inspired by Gustave Eiffel, is visible from the central hall of the museum since rehabilitation in 2005.
Building amazing City Hall (House Jayet): the name of its owner, who built between 1525 and 1528, the facade of this beautiful mansion plated on older structures. His style belongs to the early Renaissance, the castles of the Loire. With the old parish church of St. Nicolas (sixteenth and seventeenth centuries), now venue, the Town Hall is the historic core of the city.
Following the restoration of these three buildings, classified as Historic Monuments and Museum of France, and contributing to their development, the city landscape the entire historic center. The unit of this set will be returned by the expansion of space for pedestrians who will be offered a course of historical discovery, architectural and heritage, aided by highlighting each of the sites and their urban links.
Chapel of the Visitation (. Seventeenth-nineteenth century), called the Chapel of Apparitions: As stated in the inscription on the façade, it is here that the Visitation Margaret Mary received the Apparitions of the Heart of Jesus between 1673 and 1675, authenticated by his confessor, the Jesuit father Claude La Colombiere. The monastery chapel of the Visitation, built in 1633, was rebuilt in 1854 in a neo-Romanesque style reminiscent of the decoration of the basilica. She witnessed the largest pilgrimages in France that began in the early summer of 1873 with the arrival of nearly 200,000 pilgrims. Margaret Mary was canonized by Pope Benedict the 15th in 1920. Today, we can meditate lying in front of his wax.
The Chapel ColombiÃ (XXth c.): Inspired by Byzantine, the simple chapel outside enriched inside mosaics and stained glass Mauméjean brothers, sculpted and painted by Henri Charlier capitals and Stations of the Cross carved by René Davoine. The chapel of the Jesuits, whose presence Paray-le-Monial dates back to 1619, was built on the occasion of the beatification of Claude La Colombiere (1929). Spiritual director of St. Margaret Mary in 1675, he was canonized in 1992, after the arrival of Pope John Paul II. We can pray before the golden shrine of the father presented in the north chapel.
Saint-Nicolas Tower (XVI-XVII century.): Former parish church consecrated in 1535, its architecture is enriched with a massive tower to 1549. The turret, perched on the overhanging gable bears the date of 1658. It was reduced to its current level in the 19th c. with the removal of the apse and the side chapels. This is the installation of the clock, declared a public utility, avoided the destruction of the tower. The cult was suppressed during the French Revolution, when the church of the monks (now Basilica) became the parish church. Over time, the building has had various functions as a prison guard or town home. It now houses exhibitions.
Museum Paul Charnoz - Tile Art: The museum is the sole repository of human memory and industrial ceramic Paray-le-Monial. He know vividly and educational different stages of the life of the plant, through its technology and products, but also through the memories of its former employees. Are presented, among others, two monumental frescoes jewels of French industrial and decorative ceramics, made of tiles designed by pop and awarded first prize gold medal at the Universal Exhibition in Paris in 1889 and 1900. Each year, the museum presents an exhibition that animates the summer season.
Booklet-games to discover Paray-le-Monial family.
Scavenger Hunt to find Paray-le-Monial family.
Booklet-games to discover Paray-le-Monial in Rosalie.
Every day in July and August at 14:30 (except Sunday morning), guided by a tour guide tours are available from the Tourist Office.
Visit the Romanesque basilica of the 11th and 12th century. Its 18th century cloister and garden. Visit the historic center with the town hall, former mansion of the early 16th century with a magnificent facade carved in the Renaissance style, the Tour Saint-Nicolas, old parish church and chapels and two major works of the museum Hiéron.
Night Tours: Every Wednesday at 21h between July 15 and August 15. From the Office of Tourism, discover the history of the city in the light of torches. This night tour invites tourists and locals to discover the legends and history of Paray-le-Monial the rhythm of traditional music. A guide, along with horses and riders, will take you to stroll through the streets of the city to see the sights and the story ending up around local specialties.
Walking around Nochize: The Tourist Office organizes a hike on the last Sunday of June.
The Music of Paray-le-Monial: Each year the Tourist Office offers several concerts during the summer.
International Symposium on first weekend of October: Paray-le-Monial International Symposium, organized by the Friends of the Romanesque basilica.
Christmas Concert at the Basilica: the second weekend of December.
ATTRACTIONS, LEISURES AND ACTIVITES AROUND
Paray-le-Monial is the start of three circuits of Romanesque churches in the Charolais-Brionnais.
Bike ride along the Canal du Centre.
Green Walk: 12 hiking trails on the Community of Communes Paray-le-Monial.
Bowling at Vitry-en-Charollais.
Laser Team in Vitry-en-Charolais.
Ballooning. Information and registration at the Tourist Office.