Nestled at the foot of Mont Blanc at 1164 m altitude, the village of Les Contamines-Montjoie has all the riches, charm and personality of an authentic mountain village resort.
Winter is a little corner of paradise has combined the practice of sports in the sweetness and charm of small mountain villages. Snow conditions and sunshine are remarkable, soft and friendly atmosphere, the 120 km of field Contamines Hauteluce, and two play areas (with halfpipe, boardercross, rails, big air) will delight skiers and freestylers. For more fierce, they can ski on 445 km of pistes Evasion Mont Blanc. In addition cross-country skiing (23 km), biathlon, footpaths and snowshoeing, dog sledding, horse-drawn carriage, paragliding, speed riding, ice climbing, ice rink ... are available.
Summer is a host of activities for all fans of sport climbing (climbing school Duchère), hiking in medium or high mountain enjoying the famous Tour du Mont Blanc through the contaminated, mountain biking, tennis courses, horse riding, paragliding, skate park ... Summer is also enjoying her vacation at your own pace: an amusement park comprising thirty activities, water bodies (swimming and animations ) adventure in the trees, archery, fishing, golf, mini-golf, trampolines ...
Over the two seasons, Contamines offer many activities for children (nursery from a year, kids club, ski schools and sports), shops and services (some of which are open all year)
A Nature Reserve, created more than 30 years, covering an area of 5500 hectares (of the mountain glaciers) ensures a pleasant charm and protected Contamines.
With a rich heritage built by men in the Baroque era, the Les Contamines is also a place of culture and encounter with the past. Farcement taste, traditional dish of the region, exploring the history of the country or indulge in pampering.
The Baroque church of the village (eighteenth century). The date of its completion in 1759, reads the four iron rods at the corners of the facade. At this time, the interior was not completed, its decoration dates from 1847. It also lacked the tower and spire have been added in 1845. Its construction was entrusted to a master mason Piedmont, originally from Val Sesia, Domenico Gualino. The square tower has a tower base of the castle Monschau who supervised access to the Col du Bonhomme. The canopy provides information on the dedication, the church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, which is a patronage rare in this part of Europe. Money for construction will come largely expatriates. The church cross safely the French Revolution, the annexation (department of Mont Blanc), the Napoleonic wars. The secret of making scales original tin tin was lost, so that the roof was redone with stainless steel scales are not the golden glow of the foregoing. The church was immortalized in 1802 by the famous English painter Turner. Its last renovation after that effected by the Piedmontese in 1882, was designed by Edward Borga in 1976, under the leadership of Father Babaz. Excerpt from "Les Contamines at the beginning of the century" seen by an amateur photographer, Dr. Ancelet. The church of Notre-Dame de la Gorge "place of pilgrimage very old, curious baroque oratory, covered with Renaissance frescoes and gilding, in the purest tradition of religious Savoie ..." written in Frisian Roche Roger Mont-Blanc the seven valleys. The lovely church of Notre-Dame de la Gorge, white spruce, painted chapel pediment where all the girls dreamed of getting married, marks the end of the road and departure paths and mountain trails. It was rebuilt in 1699 by Jean de la Vougniaz, a master mason Valsesia who had just completed the rebuilding of the church of Saint-Gervais. Notre-Dame de la Gorge, since the 13th century, was the parish church for all the inhabitants of the valley and that until the early 19th century. But it is also a sanctuary strong spiritual influence, imbued with the cult of Mary: since time immemorial, each year's pilgrimage on August 15 at the Gorge attracts a crowd of worshipers. Finally, Notre-Dame de la Gorge is a place of prayer inseparable from the passage of the Col du Bonhomme. What traveler has not crossed the doors of this church to be a thanksgiving after a trip without incident or for a prayer before the start dreaded?
The oratory of the Gorge arriving at the Gorge, we find a set of fourteen small shrines that dot the path leading to the church. Their construction was decided by the priest Gaillard in 1728, primarily to provide even more luster to the Marian cult already present in this place. Five "Joyful Mysteries" five "Sorrowful Mysteries" and five "Glorious Mysteries" are the Rosary and mark the stages of the life of the Virgin Mary.
The Sainte-Chapelle: two hundred meters upstream of the Church of the Gorge, a small chapel is very strange clinging to the side of the cliff. The original construction was in line with that which we find today. The tradition is that the first hermit which is installed at the Gorge chose this site to build his hermitage. Since the Middle Ages, the Sainte-Chapelle was a very popular place of pilgrimage for people of the region. Today, August 15, Assumption Day and September 8, the anniversary of the Nativity of the Virgin, a procession led the faithful of the church of Notre-Dame de la Gorge at the Sainte-Chapelle in After the office.
See also the Les Contamines:
The Roman Road starting from Notre Dame de la Gorge
The hamlet of Baptieu with its chapel and its traditional architecture
Throughout the 2 seasons many activities for everyone in the village streets. Library, cinema, outings accompanied complement this program.
At Christmas, many activities for the family with the passing of Father Christmas in the housing ...
31 December: Boots party, the village square.
In January: World Cup freestyle (skicross and half pipe), many competitions.
In February performances on snow with the presentation of various services of the resort.
April: Week of Easter eggs (competitions, entertainment ...).
Day Fan Club Marie Marchand (Vice World Champion SuperG).
21 June: Music Festival in the central square of the village.
Day July 14: The night outdoor disco with DJ and refreshments, and fireworks (opening ball at 21h, fireworks from 22.30).
In July, the feast of the village, from 11am to 1am. Come discover the village of Les Contamines-Montjoie, its inhabitants and crafts. Your appointment with the Savoyard tradition. From 11am, music, demonstrations and activities around the trades of yesteryear. And tastings of local specialties in the atmosphere of folk dances. The afternoon free initiation to escalation, competition games of yesteryear, dances and demonstrations of crafts of yesteryear. Evening from 21h, outdoor disco with DJ.
In July, enjoy the rhythm of the Open GDF SUEZ Contamines-Montjoie: Women's tennis tournament with $ 25,000 bonus. This tournament served as a springboard for many great players today. Numerous events throughout the week, access to games is free (3rd week).
Day August 15, Pyromelodic free show in the majestic Notre Dame de la Gorge.
End of August (last weekend): the Ultra Trail du Mont Blanc. One of the most important races in the mountains in the world. More than 2 000 riders face the 166 km and over 9000 m of vertical gain of the race. In addition to other courses are offered.
In October, the meeting of the carriers (3rd Saturday). For more information on the mules and their strengths in the mountains.
ATTRACTIONS, LEISURES AND ACTIVITES AROUND
The path of the Baroque: For exploring heritage in the magnificent setting of the Mont-Blanc route marked trails 20 km, connecting Combloux, Saint-Nicolas de Véroce and Notre-Dame de la Gorge through the Contamines-Montjoie. Brochure available at the Tourist Office. If you want to stop at the 6 chapels or one of 4 churches Baroque on the trail, and discover chubby cherubs, altars exuberant. Come and "rando cherubs.