Capital of the Pays Beaujolais region, Villefranche-sur-Saône is a wonderful place for walkers, with its Rue Nationale street lined with old houses, Notre-Dame-des-Marais collegiate church and its beautiful facade, and Renaissance residences.
The agglomeration Villefranche Beaujolais Saône surprised by the diversity of its heritage and its landscapes. At the heart of the vineyard, Villefranche, capital of the Beaujolais undoubtedly symbolizes a showcase for all the cultural wealth of the territory. These pearls, the circuit of the hidden treasures of the old town reveals courses and Renaissance houses mostly classified.
Things to see and do
Circuit Hidden Treasures:
Villefranche unveils its architectural heritage and offers urban course around important places of the city. The 24-stage route invites visitors to freely explore the mansions dating from the fifteenth to the eighteenth century hidden on both sides of the rue Nationale.
Step by step, from the Tourist Office with totems installed along National Street, visitors will discover the history and architecture of the Renaissance inner courtyards, facades of mansions constituting a Renaissance classified together. It may sometimes push the doors of homes to appreciate the interior refinement or choose to listen to audio comments via smartphone by scanning the QR code displayed on the totems.
And do not miss anything, it is advisable to go to the Tourist Office to bring the circuit map and buy the complete booklet of the tour (6.90 €).
Collegiate Church of Notre-Dame des Marais:
Initiated in the second half of the twelfth century, construction continued until the early sixteenth century. Each era has left a fingerprint characteristic.
Are still Romanesque barrel vaults broke the choir and transept of the former while warhead crossed aisles are typically Gothic (thirteenth century). The vaults of the main nave and liernes tiercerons are a little later (XIV-XV), while the facade of the early sixteenth is late Gothic. The carved decoration, once abundant, has suffered the Wars of Religion and the Revolution. The whole (external and internal) was splendidly restored.
The organs deserve special mention. Built in 1834-1835 by Joseph Callinet, the organ of Notre-Dame des Marais was the innovative era in the Archdiocese of Lyon as proscribed by the rite of Lyon. It is now classified after being renovated several times.
Museum Paul Dini: Following the donation from Paul Dini and Muguette made in the city of Villefranche, the Municipal Museum, opened in 2001, offers in its two Cornil and Grenette areas, a chronological unfolding of its collections from the influence of School of Barbizon, through the innovative trends of the early twentieth century and to address the visions of the new Lyon figuration of post-war to today. Unique museum dedicated to the artists of the region, the Municipal Museum Paul Dini has two temporary exhibitions a year. A historical exhibition on an artist or a current in the collection "was a contemporary" highlighting the current artistic creation. The permanent collection is regularly renewed in order to discover new works each visit.
Heritage House: Housed in the heart of caladoise nave, the Heritage House invites you to discover historical and patrimonial wealth Villefranche-sur-Saône. It preserves the private archives and more than 300 000 old photographs, from which it develops exhibitions on major events and the everyday life of the city. Its documentation center, open to all, allows to learn or deepen their knowledge of local history.
Museum Conscrits®: The origin and evolution of the exceptional intangible heritage that represents the feast of Villefranche Conscrits® are exposed to understand the commitment of Caladois this tradition.
Remember Museum: It is dedicated to the memory of wars of 14-18 and 39-45, the release of Villefranche, the wars in Indochina and Algeria. He mentioned in particular the participation caladoise during these conflicts.
Day Conscripts: The wave of conscripts plunged National street in a very Caladois universe. The last Sunday of January, conscripts marching Rue Nationale, in tuxedo and top hat adorned with a green ribbon for 20 years, yellow for 30 years, orange for 40 years, red for 50, blue 60 years, violet for 70 years, plum for 80 years and tricolor for 90 and 100 years.
Beaujolais Festival: Every summer since 1980, the festival Beaujolais takes viewers. Artists and troops from different continents bring the cultural riches of their origins and reveal to the public all the diversity of world cultures.
Night of Summer: In June All music is on display at this exceptional night.
New Voices Festival: The 3rd Saturday of November. Beaujolais Nouveau Day the young French chanson for 4 days.
Beaujolais Nouveau Night: Dinner Dance. Beaujolais tasting new wines and Beaujolais.
International Marathon du Beaujolais: Circuits in the vineyards of Fleurie to Villefranche.
Visits, leisure and activities nearby
Museum Claude Bernard Saint-Julien: The new space museum dedicated to the famous physiologist, master of experimental medicine and native son: Claude Bernard. The visitor discovers his life and work on a multiple and single site made of his birthplace, museum, park and vineyards. Many interactive and fun events punctuate the approach of this extraordinary man both researcher, winemaker, academician, senator, philosopher, and friend Pastor of Flaubert. Permanent exhibition rooms for temporary exhibitions through his birthplace you will understand the career of this eminent scientist of the nineteenth century.
Priory Museum in Salles-Arbuissonnas: The Museum of the Priory in Salles-Arbuissonnas highlights the last Romanesque cloister of the department. Occupied since the Paleolithic, the site is booming with the arrival of Benedictine, elevated to the rank of eighteenth century canons countesses. Between religious life and secular life, the women of nobility have left an undeniable trace of their passage. Through a permanent exhibition, the priory major developments that marked Salles-Arbuissonnas-en-Beaujolais and offers a journey through time and discover the diversity of arts and eras that make the beauty and particularity of this website.
Wine tourism cluster in Clochemerle Vaux-en-Beaujolais: On the square of the small mound to Vaux-en-Beaujolais discover the museum Gabriel Knight, the carousel automata, the urinal right out of the author's novel, and the tasting room. Dive into the atmosphere that is both poetic and satirical village famous novel by Gabriel Chevalier international success. Discover the amazing story of this village where installing a urinal will disturb the apparent calm and divide the people. Between oratories and échauffourés jousting, these charismatic characters are sure to enjoy yourself. The museum Gabriel Chevallier memory collects the author's books, some unknown, papers and audiovisual documents about his life, about his relationship with Vaux-en-Beaujolais, as well as family archives kindly lent by his family. The carousel and automata are the strong point of the animation proposed by the eno-tourism center. The twelve great figures of the novel are shown in scene two famous games and animate parts of the book. The characters are presented in Beaujolais song. The centrality of Vaux-en-Beaujolais was completely redeveloped. Now paved, it is surrounded by facades renovated in the center the new urinal. In its extension, a panoramic terrace you can admire the beautiful landscape of vineyards and invites us to discover the Cave of Clochemerle. The idea of creation of the cellar dates back to 1955, it was decided that the vault would be installed in the old cellar of the St Martin. The inauguration took place on 28 October 1956 in the presence of Gabriel Chevallier and his wife. On 28 October 1956, the author of the famous novel definitely seal the fate of Vaux-en-Beaujolais than Clochemerle, Gabriel Chevallier inaugurating the street and basement of Clochemerle. The construction of stone and beams, the heavy door, the copper bar supported by barrels, have not changed since creation. Inside the cave, we can see like in a museum, various tables illustrating the novel "Clochemerle" Gabriel Chevallier. These cartoons made at different times by the designer Paul Dufour in the way "Dubout" are changed regularly. A series is in the spirit of the characters of the novel as the villagers traits.
Castle of Jarnioux Castle golden stone, the vineyards, built in the late thirteenth century. Very elegant Renaissance building, flanked by seven towers of the fourteenth and seventeenth centuries. (Epochs of the fifteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth centuries). The origins of this vast mansion seem to date back to the thirteenth century. The castle has a Renaissance wing and late fortifications. It belonged successively to various families who have been keen to maintain the building in a state while retaining its charm him. The result is a harmonious yet complex arrangement of pavilions, courtyards and terraces, dominated by six laps perfectly groomed. If the imposing tower, the ancient drawbridge and battlements inevitably a small medieval air, they blend seamlessly with all of this rather picturesque Renaissance and opulent citadel, little warrior. Phone: +33 4 74 03 80 85.
Château de Montmelas: This old Beaujeu property of Xe, twelfth, fourteenth, seventeenth and nineteenth centuries and is still inhabited by the same family since 1566! It was owned by the Lords of Beaujeu (Beaujolais origin). One of the oldest and best preserved of the entire region. Restored in the nineteenth century by a contemporary of Viollet le Duc, it is characterized by its polygonal shape, its corners and its keep with battlements. House inhabited all year. Excellent wines to sample locally. Unique views across the Rhone Valley and Mont Blanc. Phone: +33 4 74 67 32 94/+33 6 80 59 45 12.