An important commune of the Hauts-de-Seine, Meudon takes place in the heart of the Île-de-France, on the border of Sèvres, Boulogne-Billancourt or the Yvelines through the city of Vélizy. Located just a few kilometers from Paris, it is partly occupied by the forest of the same name, much appreciated by visitors and locals.
The city of Meudon is established since the Gallo-Roman period, south of a loop of the Seine, although recent discoveries have brought proof of a human occupation from the Neolithic period. Managed by the family of Meudon, a large family of French nobility, during the Middle Ages, the commune of Ile-de-France enjoyed its glory in the 17th century. At this time, the castle was greatly embellished by its proprietor of the moment, the Marquis of Louvois, Minister of War of Louis XIV. Baptized Rabelais during the French Revolution, Meudon grew strongly in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, notably thanks to the arrival of the railway.
Labeled City Internet @@@, Meudon shows a great modernity that combines marvelously with the ancient heritage still in place. The tourist sites to discover are not lacking in the municipality.
Located in the old house of Armande Béjart, wife of the famous Molière, the museum of art and history of Meudon. In a building classified as Historic Monuments and located at the foot of the Orangerie of the national domain of Meudon, it unveils collections retracing the history of the city, French landscape painting, sculptures and paintings of the second Half of the twentieth century. Its park, in particular, houses works from the years 1950-1970.
Other museums take place in Meudon, like that of Villa des Brillants, former residence of Auguste Rodin. It now houses his tomb, as well as several works by the famous sculptor.
The forest of Meudon is the green lung of the city, spanning over 1000 hectares. Protected by the National Forest Office, it hosts several sports infrastructures, health trails, part of the GR2 from Dijon to Le Havre, or the green belt of Île-de-France or a GRP, Grande Randonnée de Pays.
Meudon is home to ancient monuments, like the menhir of the Pierre aux Moines settled in the forest, or a dolmen of Brittany taking place in the cemetery of Longs Réages. The latter was included in the general inventory of cultural heritage in France.
In large part disappeared, the castle of Meudon still presents a large park today classified to the Historic Monuments.
Classified as Historic Monuments, Bloc House was built in 1949 by the architect of the same name. Entirely made of concrete and stone, it has a curved volume as well as large bay windows offering a breathtaking view of the park. Cockpit sculptures, monumental sculptures intended to be inhabited were added in the 1960s.
Also listed, the Chalais-Meudon wind tunnel dates back to the early 1930s. At that time it was one of the three largest in the world.
The Church of Our Lady of the Assumption, built in the middle of the 19th century, reveals among others a rose window representing the Virgin and Child and produced by the famous manufacture of Sèvres in 1846.
Several beautiful residences take place in Meudon, such as the Montalais hotel built at the end of the 18th century, or the castle of Montalets. The latter takes place above the quarries of the same name and the park of Montalets.
Vestige of the contribution of the city to the development of the aeronautics, hangar Y was built with the framework of an old building of the universal exhibition of Paris of 1878. It was used for tests of aircraft in full size.
Walking through the various districts of Meudon, you will appreciate the vegetable garden of the Dauphin, former royal domain now public park of 15 000 m² with an old chapel, or the orphanage Saint-Philippe. Created by the wife of the Marquis of Ferrari, Marie Brignole de Galliera, it was built at the end of the XIXth century.
Famous road of the south-west of the suburbs of Paris, the pavement of the Guards crosses several districts of Meudon.
Passionate about art, you will discover with pleasure the foundry Clementi, a foundry of art, or even the workshop house of Theo van Doesburg which still serves as residence of artists.
The weekly markets are numerous in Meudon and take place six days a week in the various districts of the city, from Tuesday to Sunday.
In April, the strides of Meudon propose different walking races of 4.7 km, 10 km, as well as competitions for children of 800 m and 1.8 km, in the city and in the heart of the forest.
At the beginning of October, the Rabelais festival takes place in the Orangerie of the national domain of Meudon with an old-fashioned banquet, troubadours, as well as period games for the youngest.
The festival of Meudon, dedicated to the short film of humor, takes place in October with projections, meetings and a cinematographic competition.
A very lively Christmas market offers local crafts and several magical events in December.