Nestled in the valley of Dourdou, west of Estaing, Villecomtal will charm you. Founded by the Counts of Rodez in the late 13th century, "the Village of Earl" retains some vestiges of its high city walls from 1437, the curtain of the castle flanked by three semi-circular towers and the tower its castle (fifteenth century) attached to the main building (more recent). Its fortified gate, "Lo Down Portal", since 1785 is topped by a bell emblematic. The town of medieval character, red sandstone, is a bustling center summer. Many walks and excursions available in the surrounding waters while Dourdou are particularly conducive to fishing.
Orthogonal Village Street (built on either side of the main track: Street Right). All the streets intersect at right angles.
Protected against Rovers in 1437 by a surrounding wall of 400 m. Remaining vestiges of the ramparts, "Lo Portal Down" one of two gateways, timbered houses and half-timbered ...
Roy Charles Museum: collection of nearly 1000 specimens of fossils and minerals. Visit on request from the Home Point seasonal Villecomtal. Tel. : +33 5 65 44 66 82 - Fax. : +33 5 65 44 60 21. The Home Point is open to the public in July and August - Straight Street.