Toucy, whose existence is attested from the middle of the third century, belongs to the bishops of Auxerre in the fifth century to the Revolution.
In the early 11th century, some Episcopal possessions is subservient to Itier of Narbonne, the first Baron of House Toucy.
End eleventh, early 12th century, a chapel was erected in the manor which, in 1170, strengthened with the building of defensive towers and a speaker.
The city was destroyed during the Hundred Years War.
New Lords, Requests From the Revival in the 16th century the church was rebuilt on the walls, which gives it a fortified castle rises out new walls, castle to be demolished two centuries later and rebuilt in the style of the time.
In the 19th century, Toucy is a city thriving.
In the 1860s, a period when neo-classical flourishes, it builds up the impressive City Hall today.
In 1940, a Saturday morning, market day, Toucy was bombed. We regret a great number of casualties and widespread destruction.
The city was rebuilt and continues to beautify themselves, appreciating what Pierre Larousse, the native son, whose statue stands in the middle of the Place de la Republic.
Currently Toucy is booming with many services. The fairs and markets, backed since the 13th century, flourished, his business attractiveness, its craftsmen and industrial assets, and its schools, from kindergarten to final year of high school and the BTS Insurance, include more than 1400 students. Toucy, whose rich history is inscribed in stone, is a small town where life is good.
The Church of St. Peter, built in "iron stone", was rebuilt in the Renaissance using the old manor chapel and ramparts of the 12th century. His head turned towards the west is flanked by two defensive towers that give all the features of a fortress.
The medieval streets lined with houses with wood sides, are the old town an historic center conducive to strolling and arouse the interest of history buffs. They suggestive names: rue du Chapitre de la Postern, rue de la Motte.
A beautiful mansion from the 17th century, facing the imposing town hall, houses the Gallery of the Old Post Office permanently exposing unique pieces of pottery artists as well as regional, national and international.
The Chateau de la Motte-Miton 18th century, before which stood the foundations of ancient towers and curtain walls of the 16th century, has a stylish loft converted antique shop.
The leisure is very close to downtown and offers a magnificent panorama. Fishing pond, tennis court, playground, bowling, table tennis, hiking trails, allow numerous activities. Sporting activities are supervised from 1 July to 20 August.
The train "Picasso" is an original way to discover the landscapes of the Puisaye Villiers-Saint-Benoit in Moutiers. To see Toucy station, two cars housing a Postal Museum.
Pierre Larousse Book Fair in April.
Festival Theatre, May of odd years.
Garage sales in May and October.
Fair Market, the Saturday of the weekend of Palm Sunday.
Jazz Festival, around July 10.
The aperitif-concerts: Saturdays in July and August from 18:30.
Frequently Asked Potatoes, mid-September.
Trade Fair and Exhibition Nature and Gardens, the second weekend of October.
Exhibitions throughout the year.
Guided tours of the city, the church, Pierre Larousse.
Château de Saint-Fargeau and his farm.
Museum of the sound.
Graphic Arts Center of Metairie Bruyere.
Animal Park Boutissaint.
Museum of Art and History of Villiers-Saint-Benoit.