Located on the borders of the departments of the Moselle, Meurthe-et-Moselle, the Vosges and the Lower Rhine, the common Saint-Quirin, with its hamlet of Lettenbach, is the largest department. Parish Saint-Quirin, the "larger parish", extends over four municipalities: Saint-Quirin, Métairies-Saint-Quirin, and Turquestein Vasperviller.
The historical roots:
At later times, Gauls, Celts and Romans lived in this place, protected by the Donon mountain dedicated to the mythological gods. Saint-Quirin is named Quirinus, military tribune of Rome, martyred in 132 under Emperor Hadrian. Its precious relics, made in 1050 by Geppa, sister of Pope Leo IX Alsace-Lorraine, is kept in the priory church. In 1123 was consecrated by Cardinal Cunon, papal legate, and by the Bishop of Metz, Stephen Cardinal of Bar, the new Romanesque church adjoining the priory. From the 15th century, the abbey of Marmoutier (Alsace) owner of the land, decided to establish a glass industry in the hamlet of Lettenbach. Louis the 15th granted to this flourishing manufactures the privilege of wearing the title of "Manufacture Royale" in recognition of the quality of its products which rivaled those imported from Bohemia. This glass disappears in 1844, the surviving buildings are occupied by a "Specialized Children's Home."
Tourist Office of Saint-Quirin: Tel: +33 3 87 08 08 56. Town hall Saint-Quirin: Tel: +33 3 87 08 60 34.
Looking through Saint-Quirin, you will be surprised by his priory church dating from 1722, topped by three towers, two onions triple bulb, which has a silhouette and features a typically baroque masterpiece unique historical monument: the organ factor of the famous Jean-André Silbermann (1746). Since its restoration in 1969, the "Friends of Silbermann Organs" Marmoutier Saint-Quirin and organize every year in the music days during the months of July and August. Bypassing the priory, the present parsonage, you will find below "the miraculous fountain" that heals "scrofula" (skin diseases). Each year, during five processions, the relics of St. Quirin are brought to the priory church at the Upper Chapel, a 12th century Romanesque building located on the plateau overlooking the village. Many faithful follow the pilgrimage of Ascension Day and participate that day in a fair attested from 1471 in the bustling streets of the village. The chapel of glassmakers, lovely rococo building, built in 1756 to Lettenbach, has a remarkable onion dome and a set of stained glass folk art. The beauty of the surrounding nature, the treasures locked in his church, its long history, many legends and its source "miraculous" Saint-Quirin make a place of pilgrimage and tourism.
To attract tourists, Saint-Quirin, ranked among the "Most Beautiful Villages of France", "Green Station Vacation", "Marianne d'Or" in 1984, did much to offer. Its environment favors relaxation: the trails of the local Vosges Club, biking and equestrian trails attract walkers or hiking. The vast forest estate lends itself to observation of big game hunters or pleasure; food lovers in search of berries and other delicious wild berries; mycologists make their paradise. It is also possible to fish in the pond.
Located on Forest Road Four Roads, at a place called "William Cross", extends an archaeological site, witness to a civilization from the 1st to the 3rd century.
Five translations of the relics of St. Quirinus, including that of Ascension Day, which attracts thousands of pilgrims and visitors for the great fair.
The international festival of walks which drains more than 14 000 walkers on the weekend of Pentecost.
The night march of monks, Saint-Quirin / Marmoutier, the 2nd Saturday in May
The Festival of Seven Roses concert series in July-August.
The gourmand late August.
The Pilgrimage of the Assumption of Our Lady of Hor.
The Feast of St. Therese Vasperviller, 1st Sunday of October.
Masses of St. Hubert in November, the priory church and the chapel of Glass.
The Christmas market with its unique advent calendar 1st weekend of Advent.
Farms-Saint-Quirin: Métairies-Saint-Quirin has the distinction of being formed by a set of five hamlets: Cubolot, Upper Gueisse, Pre-Round, and Heille Halmoze. It has the area of the chapel of Our Lady of Hor, baroque 18th century, built on the site of a Gallo-Roman temple, shrine.
Vasperviller: besides the Sainte-Claire, ancient temple, you will discover the Church of St. Therese of Lisieux, very modern building. It houses a unique staircase, a family tree of Christ, and an ecumenical memorial of victims of deportation.
Up the valley of the Saar to the White Donon, stretches for several kilometers from the town-Turquestein Blancrupt, former stronghold of the lords of Turquestein. The Chapel of Our Lady of Deliverance, built on an ancient Celtic shrine, in 1756.
The circuit of 7 Roses, pedestrian route that will show you the roses 7, (7 churches and chapels), the site of William Cross, the GR5.
Additional attractions and tourism opportunities:
Nature: Other circular walking free and secure, well marked, easy trails on family cycling or mountain sports (Col du Donon) or mountain biking, fishing for the day (local pond), sports courses in the trees, wildlife park Ste Cross (deer in semi-liberty and even wolves, bears, and others).
Cultural Tourism: Gallo-Roman sites; Chagall stained glass and tapestry Sarrebourg; tourist trips: steam train Abreschviller on a 6 km trail, boat lift on the canal from the Marne to the Rhine (boating); canopy area : art glass and crystal size, fine dining and local specialties.