Resort nicknamed "Queen of iodine." At low tide, the rocky banks along the coast to discover, saturating the air with iodine and seaweed fucus to which they lay.
Created by the will of Napoleon 3rd in 1851, the city of Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer combines in perfect harmony the past and the present. This fishing village offers a new youth during the Roaring Twenties with the construction of a seawall promenade lined with villas 1800 m or rococo art deco, which have kept their charm.
Located in the heart of the landing beaches, the waterfront has in his much harm suffered little from the war.
A constant effort reclamation has preserved the character so typical of Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer.
The buildings of the waterfront open many passages to the narrow alleys of the old town where a few old fishermen's houses are vigilant guardians of the past.
Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer but is also a station listed in modernity. Beautifully flowered it offers the joys of sandy beach, water sports and other activities such as tennis and horse riding. The dreamer of the dyke walk flânera preserved cars, admire the sunsets from the many terraces facing the sea, will go through the alleys of the market so colorful Sunday or visit the shops of the old town.
Evening concerts and casino style Art Deco animate the city.
The sandy beach, the seawall promenade.
The old town.
Activities: watersports, tennis, horse riding ...
The Cliff Cape Romain also known as "Castel", is located at the western end of the beach of Saint-Aubin, before arriving at Bernières-high 6 to 7 meters maximum, it shows three sets of layers: at the base, multiple limestone beds continuous and horizontal, in the middle of the sponge reefs gradually cover wrinkles bedded sand and are traversed horizontally at their upper part by an erosion surface (1 and 2 are limestones of Middle Jurassic) at the top, a layer of gravel irregular ferruginous, with scattered pebbles and sand, is a quaternary marine deposits range, higher than the current one. This layer is topped by thick silt brownish continental contemporaries of the last glaciation. This site is of great geological and paleontological interest.
The Mother Goddess, Gallo-Roman statue, a copy of which is visible to the Office of Tourism, was found in 1943 by a German officer archeology buff, it also began to date a Gallo-Roman villa and a well . The original statue we molding is limestone of Caen, measuring 1.40 m and date from the late first century or early second century. It is a well-known deity of the Gallo-Romans, the Mother Goddess. This deity is a representation Gallic mother earth, giver and guarantor of food abundance, venerated by prehistoric man and the Celts. She is the goddess of fertility.
The German anti-tank gun 50 mm in bunker, the last remnant of the Second World War. This gun is located at the west end of the seawall promenade, the corner of Pasteur and Rue Canet. The direction of the gun to the ground makes this gun a unique site in the heart of the Canadian (Juno) the landing beaches.