The common Longues-sur-Mer is famous for his role during the Second World War. The Germans had built on cliffs defense component of the Atlantic Wall. We can now see the battery of German artillery guns with its origin.
This Benedictine abbey founded in 1168 by Hugh Wac is attached to the abbey of Hambye in the Channel.
The Abbey of St. Mary full of grace serene visitors who come to discover.
This German coastal artillery battery is one of the key works of the Atlantic Wall, special arrangement coastal defense set up by Nazi Germany during World War II. Composed of four bunkers and a managerial firing, it is the only battery to have kept its original guns, even those who fired on allied ships on the morning of D-Day
Individual guided tours from April to October. The tours are conducted by guides interpreters national French and English.
Guided tours for groups all year on reservation, French, English and German.
Information Office de Tourisme Intercommunal Longues-sur-Mer to +33 2 31 21 46 87.
D-Day Festival: the appointment is made each year on 5 June, the night they arrived, a large moving spectacle will honor those who sacrificed their lives for freedom and peace on the website of the battery Longues-sur-Mer.
ATTRACTIONS, LEISURES AND ACTIVITES AROUND
Since Abbey Mondaye up Abbey Longues-sur-Mer, through the cathedral of Bayeux, there is a circular walk along the Aure. This highly spiritual journey to discover, between sea and farmland, the wealth of religious Bessin.