The foundation of Largentière dates back to the eleventh century, the overlords and first owners of silver mines were the counts of Toulouse, Viviers bishops, lords of Anduze, Poitiers and Balazuc.
In the twelfth century, the medieval city enjoyed great economic and cultural development through the Emperor Conrad granting the right to coin money. In 1208, Largentière Forgot the authority of the Counts of Toulouse to the bishops of Viviers. In 1730, Bishop Francis Renaud from Villeneuve sells the Marquis Francois de Beauvoir du Roure Brison, the Castle and the Barony of Largentière. In the 1830s, the grindings thrive is the big bang silk.
Stroll through the picturesque streets of this old medieval city, admire the beautiful houses with sandstone facades, but also arcades, mullioned windows and charming doors throughout your visit. The castle overlooks the entire city. Old possession of the bishop of Viviers, it is sold in 1716 to Count Brison makes many works to make it more comfortable. In the center of the castle, the square tower or Bonnegarde Bastide dates from the twelfth century. Spared by the Revolution, it housed the court and the prisons and then became the local hospital. Only a few rooms are open to the public during the summer as part of medieval activities. The visit is then limited to the former two reception rooms, the first floor houses the exhibition "1000 Years of History" which traces the history of the ancient city and gives access to the inside of the dungeon.
The Church of Our Lady of the Pommiers (Latin pomerium) was started in the late twelfth century, early thirteenth century. The church has many details and Romanesque reminiscences. It was completed late thirteenth century and then enlarged in the fifteenth and nineteenth. Inside a sarcophagus from the thirteenth century and a pulpit of the fifteenth. Particular detail: on top of a ledge is placed the skull of the Count of Saillans, against revolutionary beheaded in 1792.
The door Récollets sixteenth century, very well preserved, is a vestige of the old ramparts with the bridge giving access to the old town. Discover also climb Mazon, stone calade built in 1888 with stones from the ancient walls of the courthouse of the nineteenth century and the Renaissance town hall. The channel, visible from the bridge of Récollets, allowed to feed water shops.