The village, located on the right bank of the gorges of Ardeche, boasts a landscape of geological and archaeological sights remarkable.
It speaks in the 11th century tower of the Priory of Virac to monitor access to the ancient road on the Pont d'Arc, a natural arch on the Ardeche. In the late 14th century that the castle and the village of Roure appeared. This castle, historic monument, was the witness of the religious wars in Vivarais, but also a great sericulture (silkworm rearing). On March 3, 1944, the hamlet of droppings was unfortunately the victim of Nazism, the residents were shot and the village burned.
Today the village is being classified villages of character of the department of Ardeche.