This village of loess hills of Overseas Forest is located in a valley side of Seltzbach. It is connected by county roads No. 76 and 263 at Soultz-sous-Forêts (5 km).
Hunspach has a stop on the railway line Wissembourg (10 km) - Haguenau (20 km).
The ban from the town delivered the unique Neolithic ceramic material known to date in addition to the Forest.
Hunspach is mentioned for the first time in a document of 1298. The village is given in fief by the elector palatine of the Puller Hohenbourg. From 1504 to 1618, then it depends on the Lords of the Two Bridges, whose headquarters is in Cleebourg.
Reform in fact a Protestant village. In 1619, he came under Swedish administration and in 1633 it was razed and burned by the imperial troops, Catholics.
Swiss immigrants repopulate the city. In 1787, the crown of Sweden cedes all rights to the crown of France. In the 19th century, in the absence of major conflicts, prosperity returns home and causes including the construction of the railway line Haguenau - Wissembourg.
The German period from 1871 to 1919 witnessed the construction of the new church steeple and many rural sanitation work under the leadership of Kreisdirektor equivalent of the sub-prefect during the French period.
During the First World War, the village welcomes refugees Sondernach. At the beginning of the Second World War he was evacuated to Folles, Haute-Vienne, from 1939 to 1940.