Along the river Sumène, swollen by the waters of March and Marilhou, the village of Wends reveals, behind its green, a history dating back to the 9th century. Overlooking the valley, on a rocky promontory are the ruins of the beautiful and equally important fortress de Charlus (XII) where you can access, with a little effort, by a path and discover a superb panoramic view of the country.
Back in the village, a road to Saint Jacques de Compostela along the river to the chapel (XI-XII), trodden by the pilgrims were welcomed to the house of the priory (XVIII). This sumptuous home (private property), built on the very site of a priory founded by Artaud de Charlus in the 10th century, contains sets included in the inventory of historical monuments. The chapel of Saint-Jacques draws a bell wall with two windows and surmounted by a cross inside the building is sober, revealing traces of the Romanesque period, capitals, bases of columns ... The granite cross in front of the chapel is the remnant of an ancient cemetery.
Finally, one can not evoke the metal viaduct built in 1893, 366.90 meters long and 46 meters high which stresses the importance of railway heritage Cantal and keeps the memory of the coal mines until the year 50, the Juvenile cited for its part, beautifully restored, was transformed into a holiday village.